Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering what depths you guys have been having the most luck? ive caught two blues over 10 lbs in about 10-15 ft of water and a few big flatheads in 25-30 ft. Noticed most of my good holes have changed this year not producing probably because of the water level. Hoping to get some help.

·
Registered
557 Posts
i normally fish hartwell once a week for bigger fish, and so far this year i have done great on
blues from 10 to 20 pounds. i started out in my spots from last spring, but it didnt take long to see
that the lake levels had changed things. i like to fish from 7 to 20 feet during spring, so i moved
up the lake about a mile to get back to the depth i wanted. once i moved up i started catching fish
like normal. i had very little luck on bluebacks, but when i got some cut gizzard shad it was on.
im just learning how to use a computer so this is my first post ever. ive joined this site about a month ago , and it looks like there are two other guys on here who know how to fish hartwell pretty good,
jimmyjohnny and weatherman trey. maybe they can help with this also. good luck

·
Registered
516 Posts
We caught a 17 and 15lb blue and a 17lb flathead this past Saturday night. All of them were in less than 10 feet of water. Exact depth isnt that important right now though. It's more about structure,spawning areas, and baitfish. We where tucked back in a little cove that I knew had some huge underwater stumps and undercut holes that I inventoried when the water level was way down. Out in front of the cove the river channel dropped all the way down to 65 feet deep.

Hope this helps.

Oh, and we don't even mess with blueback herring anymore. Between the channels robbing them off our hook, and them getting mushy and falling off. It's just not worth it. Especially when I'd much rather have a bigger piece of bait out there in the first place.

·
Registered
4,060 Posts