Lake Conroe, Lake Livingston - New To Texas

Discussion in 'TEXAS LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by gunter003, May 24, 2007.

1. gunter003

gunter003 New Member

State:
    Texas
    First I am new to Texas and was wondering about the catfishing on Lake Conroe, Lake Livingston. I have fished on the Alabama River most of my life . I have heard the the fishing on both of these lakes is good to great. What kind of tackle do you use for these lakes and is the bait mostly shad and dipbaits. I have only used cut shad in Alabama. Also is it difficult to catch shad in these lakes, or should I just buy it from the local bait shops?

2. splitshot

splitshot New Member

State:
    Coxsakie,N.Y.
    Welcome to the BOC Josh. Im from New York so i cant answer your questions, but im sure the Texas members can help you out.

3. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Josh. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to answer your questions.

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Josh Welcome to the BOC. I look forward to reading your post. Sorry I can't answer this question.:lol::big_smile:

5. drillsgt32

drillsgt32 New Member

State:
    texas
    Josh due to deplyments i have been in and out of texas. catching shad isn't aways the answer. get skilled with a cast ned, and catech whats in the water you're fishing. may be shad may be baby blue gill or brim as you and i kn w (i'm from mississippi) cut them small to catch eaters fish them live to take biiiiigggggg pics.

6. twomorrows

twomorrows New Member

State:
    Texas
    gunter003, I have never fished on Lake Conroe, but have fished
    Lake Livingston and we always done really well. No problems catching shad for bait with a cast net either. I don't think you will be disappointed at all. Good Luck and welcome to TEXAS!!!!!

7. BAMA_CAT

BAMA_CAT New Member

State:
    Boaz,ALABAMA