KY River Equipment Question

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY RIVERS TALK' started by Capn Crunch, May 31, 2009.

1. Capn Crunch

Capn Crunch New Member

State:
    Lexington,
    This is an equipment question, but since it specifically relates to the KY River, I figured it ought to go here.

This is my first year of serious catfishing. In years past, they were incidental catches when targeting bass, bluegill, striper, etc. I have an Abu 5500 on a nice 7' MH rod with 12lb Big Game which is currently my bass/smaller cat rig (for ponds, smaller stocked lakes, etc.)

I planned on setting up an Abu 6500 with 20lb mono on my 8' Ugly Cat, but I've been given an opportunity to pick up another 5500C3 at a nice price. I know it would only hold roughly 115 yards of 20lb mono, if my math is right. I wondered if this would be enough line for the KY River.

For the details, I generally bank fish, and generally between Irvine and Frankfort. My favorite is around Boonesborough. I'm thinking even 15-17lb mono would probably be enough to bring in up to 30-ish pound fish if I play them well, and would give me better capacity than the 20lb line. Just not sure if the 5500 has enough line capacity at 20lb, or if not, if the 15 or 17# line would be strong enough. From what I've seen so far, really big cats seem more like moving large rocks than hooking a freight train. If that's the case on the KY, the 115 yards ought to be enough. (Now if I hook into a striper or hybrid, that may change quick. Lol.) I guess if the cat gets into swift current below a dam that would change things, too.

Just wanted to get some opinions from the experienced. Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! :)

2. beespringer

beespringer New Member

State:
    sunfish, k
    You should be fine Berklys big game is some tuff stuff.You can always keep some in your box in case you need to respool.

3. lance

lance New Member

State:
    kentucky