ky. river cats

Discussion in 'LOCAL KENTUCKY TALK' started by stonemaster, Dec 4, 2005.

1. stonemaster

stonemaster New Member

State:
    versailles, ky.
    Hi. This is my first time on this site and i hoped someone could tell me about my chances of catching a few cats this month in the ky. river.

2. on_the_fly

on_the_fly New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    dont know anything about ky river but ohio is doing great right now i would think if you knew a few good holes you should do good too.

3. Jeremy Leach

Jeremy Leach New Member

State:
    Madison In
    The mouth of the Kentuck river is awesome when the water temp gets all the way down in the upper 30's and lower 40's. That hole is 50 some feet deep and holds a lot of big ble cats during the winter. Good luck and I would give it a try we've caught a lot of nice fish from there.

4. stonemaster

stonemaster New Member

State:
    versailles, ky.
    thanks jeremy. i fish the part of the river between locks 6 and 7. shoud i look for deep holes or spend my time looking for structure.i am new to cat-fishing, before i fly-fished for small-mouths in small streams. i started going for cats this spring and now i am hooked (sorry for the pun). i caught a freezer full of 5 to 10 lb. channel and blues but no big flatheads. some freinds of mine caught some nice ones, one was 42 lbs., but no luck for me.mostly i was using shad near the lock. i bought a dept-finder and have been learning the bottom near home but i realy do not know what to look for. any advice you could give me would be greatly appreachated.

5. stonemaster

stonemaster New Member

State:
    versailles, ky.
    thanks jeremy.