Knowing how to find them catfish holes

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by iceman, Nov 13, 2005.

1. iceman

iceman New Member

State:
    Walterboro S.C
    I'm still new to this catfishing thing and wanting to learn.What am i looking for as far as depth, structure,area, and such? i'm river fishing and sometimes do a little lake fishing. WHAT MAKES A GOOD CATFISH HOLE? any help would be great. :D

2. cook

cook New Member

State:
    Plattsburg,Mo.(near K.C.)
    How about a little more info?
    Fill out your profile,what state /area/river/lake would help.Also what time of year?What type of cat are you targeting?

Sorry,but you question is like asking what is the best color for a house.

Details,man,details.

3. iceman

iceman New Member

State:
    Walterboro S.C
    sorry Cook guess i wasn't thinking. I mainly want to catch some big flatheads. they say this is the best time to start. i'm in South Carolina.Hope this helps out!

4. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    In Rivers look for holes on the bends, alot of trees in the water also..Any kind of structure.

5. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    When chasing flatheads always look for structure adjacent to deep water. Such as mouths of creeks with downed trees or brush snags. these will produce large flatheads sometimes. Also along old creek beds in a lake up on the ledges around old tree trunks and root wads. At night in warmer months I like fishing in shallow water where bait fish congregate at the ends of sand bars on island tails next to a channel in the river.
    I hope this helps, Brother!

6. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    For river fishing look for outside bends and steep ledges(dropoffs) . I don't fish lakes so I am not much help there.

7. JAYNC

JAYNC Active Member

State:
    Newport N.C.