Keowee and deep waters

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by JimmyJonny, Dec 7, 2007.

1. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    I wanted to start this thread not only about Keowee but also to deep water holding lakes.

Being from Florida I'm still learning about the deep water here in SC. In Fla a hole at 12' is pretty good. The waters aren't deep at all there..except springs of course. Any hoot....I'm blow away when I see channels 120' deep, LOL. What the heck lives down there, LOL ?

I'm on this map kick like yellow jackets on chicken liver. I've got spots where I think I can reach 60' to 80' of water now ( new rod ) but is there anything there ?

Also has anyone fished Keowee much ? I can put a hurting on bass there, been doing it for years but never tried for cats.

I fish from the "ye old hot hole " and down the road around the bridges aka "chicken beach". I can also get out to the fish attractors, are they any good to fish ?

Any info yas think might be helpful plz let me know : )

Thanks,
    -Jim-

PS, is there only channel cats in there ?

2. JimmyJonny

State:
    sc
    Hmm, Nobody fishes Keowee ? It might be worth me trying then. Reason I say this is because I don't know one person that goes for Cats in there.

-Jim-

3. droptine77

droptine77 New Member

State:
    Anderson, SC
    Jim, search "Keowee catfish". I just did and theres alot of info.

4. JimmyJonny

State:
    sc
    Thanks, Greg......will do.

5. chrisblue

chrisblue New Member

State:
    SC
    I know for a fact that its got blues, flatheads and channels, I've seen it with my own two eyes in a tournament.

I also know that catfish, blues especially will go very deep, the deepest I've caught them is 140 foot.For anybody that dont beleive that, theres several members on here that have witnessed it quite a few times.:wink:

The area around the hot water discharge is where I would put the most time in especially for the next 3 months.