Keeping bluegills alive for an extended time

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by RiverKing, Jul 5, 2006.

1. RiverKing

RiverKing New Member

State:
    Yellow Spr
    I have been catchingn bluegills lately so i can have a good amount of live bait to take to the Ohio River..What is the longest period of time you can keep them alive in a decent bait tank..Also i know they have to eat, what sort of stuff do you feed them, and lastly how often should you change the water out in there tank. All help is appreciated

2. kccats

kccats New Member

State:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I'm not an expert on this, but I do know that there is a LOT of great info about that in the BOC Library.

There are a lot of factors involved in keeping bait fish.
    This time of year, heat is a major factor. You need to keep the water cool.
    They need LOTS of oxygen
    They need plenty of space

There are a bunch of different bait tanks in the library from bank to boat to home tanks.

3. flathead willie

flathead willie Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia
    I keep mine in a spring box in the ground with a trickle of water flowing thru it. I've kept them in it all winter long and feed them tuna and cat food. Some of the bream have been in it for a few years along with a few small channel cats. I empty it out every spring, clean the bottom and refill it. When I go fishing I just put some in a 5 gallon bucket until I get to the water and then put them in a basket type bait keeper.

4. kccats

kccats New Member

State:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I am unfamiliar with a "spring box".
    Can you elaborate?

5. flathead willie

State:
    Virginia