Keep Our Sport Alive

Discussion in 'LOCAL KENTUCKY TALK' started by mankind, Oct 21, 2008.

1. mankind

mankind New Member

State:
    ashland ky
    I have seen some big catfish people have caught on B. O. C. It gives me hope that one day I'll catch a monster myself. My biggest to date was a 50.7 lb. flathead. It sure felt grreat, which brings me to my subject.

That fish was put back to be caught again another day. I have been lucky enough to catch fish up to 35 lbs. They've all went back with the hope they'd grow a little bigger and be caught again by myself or another lucky angler.On B. O. C. I've seen many big fish not put back for future anglers. I don't have a problem with people who are making a meal of the fish, I love a good catfish fry myself. But why not keep the small ones, under 5lbs. and put the big ones back. When you take out a big one you have removed a fish that took years to grow, also you have removed it's genes from the pool. I'm not good at this but if I can save one big cat it will be worth it.

We as catmen have to take care of our sport. We need to band together and do the right thing so we'll always have that chance to catch a monster. Our big fish get a lot of pressure from netting for pay lakes and people eating them. That's alot of big fish genes that are destroyed. I know this is going to get a alot of different views and thats ok. Just think about it the next time you have the chance to take or release a cat.

2. Salty1

Salty1 New Member

State:
    Mt. Washington, Ky.
    Practice C.P.R. (Catch Photo and Release)

3. katfish ken

katfish ken New Member

State:
    Paintsvill
    That is as well put as it can be put in words Larry. That gets my vote of confidence..:wink::smile2: Great post.. Rep your wway guy..

4. takeaction

takeaction New Member

State:
    Ware Shoals, SC