Kaskaskia River

Discussion in 'ILLINOIS RIVERS TALK' started by alands94, Dec 11, 2007.

1. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    Brian and I are talking about hitting the Kaskaskia River next year between Mascoutah and New Athens. I've heard there is some great catfishing in that section, but I don't personally know anyone who fishes it. I am new to river fishing - does anyone have any info., tips, etc. on this stretch of the river? I know the Mascoutah - Fayetteville section is not channelized and the Fayetteville - New Athens section is channelized. Two different types of river. All info is greatly appreciated!!!

2. olddriller

olddriller New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Aron, I fished this river alot last year. but not in the area you are talking about. I have only fished down river from Hwy 154 in the Balwin area to the Mississippi River. The Kaskaskia is more like a long lake in this area unless they have the gates at the dam open. We moved up River with our fishing this fall because there was to much bardge traffic, getting the grain out after the harvest. I haven't been in a couple of weeks. We usually do some jug fishing My jugs hate barges. I am looking forward to see what kind of feed back you get from your post . Good Luck

3. Skunk Master

Skunk Master New Member

State:
    Colinsville, Il
    Don't plan on using your motor unless you have a jet.. Plan on using your trolling motor and work it like a creek or finger off of a lake.. Work your way upriver looking for holes and trying to miss the sandbars.. With some patience and searching you should be able to find holes with some nice flatheads in them..

4. fishnfwl

fishnfwl New Member

State:
    South Cent