Kansas river

Discussion in 'KANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by smhmc6, Mar 7, 2007.

1. smhmc6

smhmc6 Member

State:
    Kansas
    Hey, me and a few buddies are planning a fishing/camping trip on the Kansas river coming up in about a week. We thought it wouldn't be too hard to find a place, but it turns out we were wrong. We need some help to find a good area or good spot. We don't want to go too far from Topeka... we were thinking somewhere around the Perry lake area. I've got a little flat back canoe and a small trolling motor and we want to get on the river and set a couple of lines. Anyway, I guess I'm lookin for some help or advice on where to go. I've read alot of posts and you all have been very helpful to other people, but most locations given out are near the KC area. Thanks for your help.

2. smhmc6

smhmc6 Member

State:
    Kansas
    By the way, I forgot to say that I'm new to the BOC. Also I did a little research tonight and I found this place that may be promising. Its part of the F.I.S.H. program of the kansas department of wildlife. It is just north of where shawnee, jefferson, and douglas counties all come together.... has anyone ever used that F.I.S.H. site? Is it any good? Thanks for the help

3. KC Jayhawk 78

KC Jayhawk 78 New Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ks
    I dont know of it, but I wouldnt mind trying it out with ya. Give me a shout whenever your ready.

k1978a@yahoo.com

4. smhmc6

smhmc6 Member

State:
    Kansas
    Well, my buddy who lives in Topeka went out to check out those F.I.S.H. sites for me since i'm 6 hours away at school. Turns out they don't allow camping, so we aren't sure what we are going to do. Back to square one. One things for sure... we'll be somwhere on the kansas river towards the end of next week. So if you are out there in that area, there's a good chance we'll run into each other somwhere on the river.

5. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Steve.