Kansas River question.

Discussion in 'KANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by forrestkc, Jul 14, 2006.

1. forrestkc

forrestkc New Member

Hi everyone, my name is Forrest and I am new to the BOC forums. Moved up here a few years ago from central Arkansas and live in Roeland Park, KS. I have done a lot of catfishing fishing on the Wakarusa, Perry, and Clinton Lake, but have not fished the Kaw much other than right below Bowerstock Dam there in Lawrence and a couple of times below that earthen dam there at 435. I have a five year old son that loves fishing and he has been relentlessly begging me to take him out camping again this summer. I told him I would take him camping this weekend (this was a couple of weeks ago before I saw the heat wave in the forecast). At any rate I told him that we would go camping on a sand bar on the Kaw. I have a canoe, and 3 weeks ago we put in there at the ramp on cedar creek there in Desoto and checked out the Kansas river from there. At the time the river was fairly low and the current was so weak that I could paddle up or down stream fairly easily. We only paddled about a mile or so up the kaw from the cedar creek confluence and about a mile or so down, but at the time it looked as though the river was mostly real shallow (even drug a lot in the canoe) with a few deeper holes. The deepest seemed to be on the South side of the river just down from where cedar creek run into it. I have put in there at Eudora on the Wakarusa several times in my canoe and fished the snags for Flathead (that Wakarusa seems to be just full of flathead), but I have never taken it down to the Kaw. At any rate, I figured we would load the canoe up and go out Saturday evening, find us a sandbar that we could fish a good hole from, and camp and fish there. With the heat being what its going to be we probably wont get out there until 7:00 PM or so Saturday and leave the next morning before it gets too hot. My question is are we better off putting in there at Desoto, an