Just wondering how to catch the BIG catfish on the potomac

Discussion in 'MARYLAND RIVER TALK' started by bigdwb, Jun 8, 2006.

1. bigdwb

bigdwb New Member

State:
    maryland
    hello eveyone, i have been fishing the potomac around ft washington for the past three years now and still havent managed to catch a really big cat! the biggest that i have cought has been 13 pds. and it was around 24 inches. i see these pic of these really huge fish and i cant seem to catch em! i always catch more than enough smaller ones (around 15-18 inhes). i have used chicken livers, herring, cut bait, power bait, and those really stinky dough balls. if anyone has any tips or decent places around maryland or virginia to fish please let me know. i am new on this site so i have to figure out how to use this program. thank you darion b

2. catfishkatmando

catfishkatmando New Member

State:
    Salem, WV.
    He is a BOC sponcer and as a guide service on the Potomac. I would emagine that he would share a little info with you

SEE YOU ON THE FISH BANK AT THE NATIONAL GATHERING

3. TIM HAGAN

TIM HAGAN New Member

State:
    Walkersvil
    Well i will tell you that right now most of the bigger fish are coming from waters 25 to 50 feet deep. when you come out of fort washington head up river. Any where along the channel will hold big cats But you will need fresh bait to catch them. The only bait I have done any good with is fresh cut baits and hearts. You can run that channel from the WW bridge as far down river as you like. Just fish the drop offs in 25 to 35 feet and you will find some nice cats.

Or you can set a trip with me and i will show you first hand where and how to catch them :big_smile:

PM me your number if you like i can call and talk you over some spots just dont keep them big old cats

4. greenwood

greenwood New Member

State:
    Maryland