Just started trying metal detecting out any tips??

Discussion in 'Metal Detecting' started by iluvnevaeh, Mar 31, 2009.

1. iluvnevaeh

iluvnevaeh New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    i live in southeastern nebraska and just got me a cheaper $200 metal detector and im new to all this so any tips would be appreciated, thanks

2. jctiger

jctiger New Member

State:
    Grain Valley Missouri
    I would start in your backyard,bury different coins(1,5,10,25 cents) at
    1-6 inches depth.Run your detector over these objects and get to
    know the sounds.Most detectors will make a chirp or pop sound
    over trash but will have a good even tone over coins.
    Well I should ask you what kind of detector do you have?

3. iluvnevaeh

iluvnevaeh New Member

State:
    Nebraska
    i have a bounty hunter elite 2200. i have used it once. but now i have access to alot of older property where there was old farm houses and an old school house that i am going to tear down for salvage and i wanted to kinda know exactly what i should do or spots i should check first.

4. Mr. Foster

Mr. Foster New Member

State:
    Kansas
    i got alot of experience in playgrounds in the sand. I learned the difference in coins, pull tabs etc. It is a fun hobby you never know what your gonna find?

5. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    Stay away from teens with face armor! :tounge_out:

6. Catfish_Commando

Catfish_Commando TF Staff Member

State:
    Georgia
    Build you a test plot with different coins, then different coins at angles.

Once you get the hang of known targets at known depths, at known angles, it will help your hunting out greatly.

7. RamRod

RamRod New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Definitely sounds like a pretty fun and adventurous hobby!:wink:

8. jctiger

jctiger New Member

State:
    Grain Valley Missouri
    Old farm houses are great.A few tips beyond the obvious,see if you
    can locate where the clothesline would have been and give it a