Just picked up some spider wire

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by catfishing is fun, Mar 9, 2007.

1. catfishing is fun

catfishing is fun New Member

State:
    Missouri/Michigan
    I bought some 50lb (10lb diamitor) for my big cat reel, and some 10lb (2lb diamitor) for my zebco 33 aka my lil cat reel, is this good line, also what knots should i not use on it?

Thanks for the help.

2. BassMassey

BassMassey Well-Known Member

State:
    Oconee
    I just bought some 50# spider wire off of catish connection myself since it was on sale. On your big cat reel i would use mono backing and then just spool up approx. 150 yds. of the spider wire. If your mono backing is a different diameter then your braid then use the albright knot to join to two. To tie on your terminal tackle with braided line the clinch not won't work, you will have to use the polomar knot. I am new to braided line myself and am gonna spool two of my reels up for this season to see how i like it. Go to www.animatedknots.com for visuals on how to tie these knots, it's a great site. Also I would use mono line for your leader since braided line isn't very strong if rubbed against a rock, and it will help you keep most your line if you have to break off due to a snag. I plan on using 30# big game for my leaders.....

3. waterwalker

waterwalker New Member

State:
    Louisville Ohio
    I use it on my ultra light...remember no stretch, could jerk the lips out of a crappy.

4. catfishing is fun

catfishing is fun New Member

State:
    Missouri/Michigan

How is it not strong when rubbed againt rocks, it broke my fingernail clipers, and i had to saw it with my good sissors?

Just wondering

5. CatfishHateMe

CatfishHateMe New Member

State:
    Il