July Flathead Catfish in the Diversion Canal

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by flathead22, Apr 15, 2006.

1. flathead22

flathead22 New Member

State:
    south carolina
    Hey, guys, if you have heard me you know I am a veteran when it comes to fishing the Santee-Cooper areas. I have been down there fishing in late July, August, October, late December, early January, March, April, and May. However, I have not fished in the middle of July, I will be down there July 13-15 this year to fish the Diversion Canal. My favorite month is August, I have caught huge fish during this time:). The fishing has always been hot during this time, and by hot I mean catching big blues and flatheads. I like to target flatheads and I wanted to know if the fishing in the middle of July is as hot as it is in August. Is the potential for big flatheads as great as August? My favorite bait is white perch, nothing for me has proven better at catching big cats than white perch. Is it still pretty easy to catch bait at the lock on Moultrie this time of year?? And when I say that, compare to the winter time!! I have caught several dozens of big shad and herring each night with no problem at the dam during the winter! Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Kyle

2. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Hey Kyle,
    I don't know about July fishing but I was wanting to ask a question. I am going there Memorial Day weekend. Where is a good place to catch white perch for bait? In the daytime it would seem like the panfish would be deep because of heat, but at night would it be easier? I have had more success with white perch for big fish than with herring, but I just think it would be cheaper to catch bait rather than pay for it. Thanks.

3. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC