Jordan Lake

Discussion in 'LOCAL NORTH CAROLINA TALK' started by norton, Jun 21, 2007.

1. norton

norton New Member

State:
    NC
    i am new to this my family just got a new boat afew weeks a go. we love to catfish, is jordan lake a good lake to catfish we have went out about 4 or 5 times and only got a few around 1 to 1 1/2. 4or5 trips and only like 8 fish. so if any one can help me and my family out pleas let me know were to go and what to use.

2. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    Jordan is a good place to catch catfish just not trophy catfish.
    If I want numbers I'll go to Jordan.
    We do catch nice channels up to the 10-12 pound range with cut shad.
    I would rather fish Kerr Lake or Lake Gaston compared to anything in the triangle. Other then that you'll find me on the Neuse river and the Cape Fear river going after the big ones.

The largest catfish I ever hung into was in Jordan however. I still have the hook that was literally twisted apart a 1/4" below the hook eye.
    I managed to get the fish to the surface for the circus rolls that freed him.
    That happened around the mid 90's.
    Some people will tell you there aren't any flatheads in Jordan.
    There is atleast one and he's big.:eek:oooh:

3. norton

norton New Member

State:
    NC
    thanks mark were would you suggest to fish the upper part of the lake or the lower by the dam.

4. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    There are members here that fish it often. I dont. I rarely fish for catfish in Jordan anymore but when I did I caught catfish anywhere I dropped a hook and bait.
    About 10 years ago I stood on the bank of the lake close to the washover ponds with an ultralite and crickets. I caught channels as fast as I could reel them in until I was sick of pulling them in. Just fiddlers. Out of all those fish I caught you would think I had something to talk about other then getting sick of it.