Jet outboard?

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by Bigfish18, Nov 21, 2007.

1. Bigfish18

Bigfish18 Member

State:
    Wichita, Kansas
    I have a 16ft Bass Tracker PF ( mod vee flatbottom). It had a 25hp engine on it that would get it up on plane fast, and it would go as fast as I needed to go. Now I have a 40hp on it and it is nasty fast.

Would the 40hp converted to a jet 40/25 push my boat?
    My boat has a 40hp max engine size. Does that mean I could run a 60/40jet and not get in any trouble?

I would like to hear from some outboard jet owners on this one.

Thanks
    Cody Forshee

2. Skimmer

Skimmer New Member

State:
    Va.
    If you were satisfied with the performance of the 25 I think you would be fine with converting the 40 to a jet. That would be the cheapest option, but not sure if you will be pleased going back to a 25 after knowing what a 40 runs like. Check out outboardjets.com for help on conversion and setup. I am new to outboard jets but I love mine.

Attached Files:

• boat.JPG
      boat.JPG
      File size:
      97.5 KB
      Views:

3. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    I don't have any experience with jet conversions, but I'd like to ask of some of you who know:

1: Will the conversion work on any flat bottom boat, or does the hull need a bottom designed for a jet?

2: I know there is a loss of power, but will the 40/25 still get on plane and run like the 25 hp two stroke?

We have a couple of jets at work, but I've never had reason to use any of them. With the drought conditions we're experiencing, that may change soon. :wink: Thanks for any info.

4. loanwizard

loanwizard Well-Known Member

State:
    Coshocton,
    I am on my second jet. My first was an old 40/25 on a 1654 jon which pushed it approx 25 mph. I now have a 115/80 on a 2072 that pushes 25-27. Rollo has a newer forty and I am guessing (by folowing) that it goes 30 mph.