James River Report

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by jwfish, Oct 14, 2006.

1. jwfish

jwfish Member

State:
    columbus ohio
    My wife and me are going to the dutch gap area of the james the first week of november and I am just checking to see if the fish are moveing to there wintering holes yet and if anyone has been on the river lately.Thanks for any info Jerry.

2. flemflamman

flemflamman New Member

State:
    va
    I have read good reports lately

I wouldnt go by what Im doing bcz Im new to that part of the james and kind of rely on blind luck down there. Water temps where low 60's and we have had more rain and some cold lately so by NOV I think the winter pattern would be good places to fish

3. jimmyk

jimmyk New Member

State:
    virginia
    The rain has got the river a little up. ther is still some trees and brush floating in it so be careful. the water temp is coming down. It was 55 or so last Monday. I fish that are also. This is the first winter that i have owned a boat, so I can't wait to fight some big blues.

4. jwfish

jwfish Member

State:
    columbus ohio
    Jimmy I will be going out of the deep bottom ramp the 5-9 of november if you are down on the river stop by and say Hi.I will be in a 18 ft fisher with a 75 merc ohio tages and rod holders all over it.That goes fo any other Boc members too.

5. Paraguayguy

Paraguayguy Active Member

State:
    Virginia
    Snuck in a quick afternoon trip on the James River with my brother. We found bait easily at the first entrance downstream on the right from the deep bottom ramp. We had lines in the water by 4:00 PM. We fished until 6:30 and caught 8 bluecats and one soon to be grilled striped bass. No monster fish for us today. Small cats were 8-9 pounds and two over twenty and a few teenagers thrown in. It was so nice to catch fish in the daylight in 70 degree.

6. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC