is this enough to get me started?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by FATDAD, Feb 23, 2009.

1. FATDAD

FATDAD New Member

State:
    Mount Sterling,
    as you can tell i am new to catfishing, friend took me to a paylake last year and saw a guy catch a 50lb flathead iwas HOOKED.... i plan on fishing in the rive and at some paylakes at first. any way here is a list of what i have bought do you guys think this will work for a while?
    2 6500c4 reels on 7.5 ft ecat rods #4
    1 shakeshere 30l on 9 ft nite stick
    3 808 magnums on 7 ft ugly stick mh catfish rods
    2 older pro staff 888 on 7 ft ugly stick mh catfish rods
    1 saltwater 888 on 7 ft berley big game rod
    1 30 l on big game rod
    what do you think? hope you all dont get tired of all the questions. i am really glad i found this site........:roll_eyes:

2. FLATHEAD STEVE

FLATHEAD STEVE New Member

State:
    DESMOINES IOWA
    I would stay away from the 808/888 for flatheads, A big one in good current will wreck those reels. other than that you should be good to go with your Abu......not sure on the shaksp. reel:wink:

3. FATDAD

FATDAD New Member

State:
    Mount Sterling,
    am going to use 808/888 for channel cats and carp, have caught some big carp with 888, thanks

4. espressokev

espressokev New Member

State:
    Iowa
    you're good. Go have some fun! :)

5. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    Those two are your go to rigs. There is not a catfish that cannot be landed on that combination. Spool them with some good quality 30lb mono and use good hooks, swivels etc.
    As for the paylake thing, I am not knocking it but I believe that in most cases the techniques learned there to catch catfish will not stand you in good stead when you go to the rivers and natural lakes.
    Good luck, have fun...W

6. catfishbill33

catfishbill33 New Member

State:
    Clarksville, TN