is it worth fixing

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Jeremy Sheffey, Dec 13, 2009.

1. Jeremy Sheffey

Jeremy Sheffey New Member

State:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Hey guys, im new to the boat and boat repair world. i had a guy offer to give me a mid 90's model Nissan 90 horse outboard motor. it has a blown head for sure. how much do you all think it is worth and would the repairs cost to much to fix it versus just buying a working engine.

2. CatHunter24

CatHunter24 New Member

State:
    Dayton, Ohio

Just depends. I'm not sure on parts and labor or time if you do the labor yourself. If you look around, you can find some deals as im sure the head isn't cheap. I bought my fully working, turn key 90 for around 700 bucks (a steal i know) and my friend picked up a 150 for less than 1200 I think. I saw the other day a 96 200 HP Johnson for 1500. So, its a matter of being in the right place right time. I would ask BubbaKat or someone knowledgeable about how much a head would run, and what all is involved. Also, make sure the motor only has that wrong with it, or seems to only have that wrong with it. Makes it hard to diagnose a motor if you can't check spark and compression.....because if you have those 2 things you have a good motor, just have to worry about fuel. Like I said, I know very little about outboards, just wanted to give you a little feedback from my experience this past summer.

3. catman-j

catman-j New Member

State:
    Eastern Nebr
    Price out the parts first. If you get the motor for free and can do the work it might be a good way to kill time until spring.We live in a throw away world, sometimes it's good to bring something back to life.

4. Smokin

Smokin New Member

State:
    Ca