Is it safe to eat?

Discussion in 'LOCAL TEXAS TALK' started by Big B, Sep 3, 2007.

1. Big B

Big B New Member

State:
    North Texas
    Hello to all. I am new to the BOC and fairly new to catfishing. I need to know if I have made a mistake or it I'm ok. Here is the story. I was on the lake all weekend and caught a few nice cats. I left them on a stringer for up to 2 days. They were still alive when I headed home. A bit scuffed up but definitely alive. They died in the cooler when i put city water in it and were filleted shortly after. I filleted a 12lb 6oz blue and when I removed the guts the lining of the guts on the belly (the silver stuff) was yellow and smelled like stomach acid :crazy:but the stomach and the gall bladder were not punctured. However the meat has the same smell. I thought that it was just the guts stinking so I put all of the fillets in a big bowl as I filleted them. Then I washed each fillet individually and put them in freezer bags with some water in it, also separate bags for each large fillet and more for the smaller fillets. Is the meat ok? Or have I just screwed the pooch on about 20 lbs of meat and need to throw it away? I have not eaten any of it yet. Any information it greatly appreciated.

2. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    I am sure it will be just fine!!! I have seen it before as well, never hurt me!!!

3. HappyDudeSr

HappyDudeSr New Member

State:
    Texas
    I too have seen this and haven't been hurt by eating the fillets. You made sure that you washed them thoroughly, and that is basically all you can/need to do.

4. Big B

Big B New Member

State:
    North Texas
    I gave a bag of these fillets (1 fish)to a guy that I work with. He said that about 5 minutes after he ate it, it came back up.:embarassed:

5. Love Them Cats

Love Them Cats New Member

State:
    Vinita, Oklahoma
    I usually put mine on ice or stick them in the fridge until I'm ready to clean them?