Is braid that much better than mono?

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by Dirtdobber, Aug 2, 2009.

1. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    I have never used braid before and was wondering if it is really better than mono? I would like to try it but have no idea which or what kind to use.

2. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    To be honest Jim.. i tried some braid the other day and it seems the cast distance is farther than mono will cast but cutting the tag end of the line is an absolute pain plus it curls up more while your tryin to tie somethin on. If you use mono stay with it IMO. Hope this helps.:wink:

3. drpepper

drpepper New Member

State:
    Indiana
    braid sucks less than mono... they still havent came out with the perfect line yet.

4. fishinfreak19D

fishinfreak19D New Member

State:
    Pittston, PA
    imo braid is good for horsing in a fish as long as thres no rocks around,,, thats about as good as it gets, everything else about it sucks, has absolutley no abrasion resistance and the line doesnt stretch at all, id stay with the mono, imo

5. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I hate braid, I would not use any brand of braid if it was free.

6. lookin_4_moby

lookin_4_moby New Member

State:
    Guthrie, OK
    I love braid been using it since spiderwire originally came out with it BUT I will admit fishing around rocks with it is not the best idea. I fish with 65lb power pro which is my personal favorite also the stren super braid is sweet!! I've been thinking about switching to it actually, a friend of mine bought some and I love how it casts and it's has a lot better abrasion resistance.

7. RPnKC

RPnKC New Member

State:
    Kansas
    +1

8. sjohn58

sjohn58 Guest

Ok, people hate braid line for a lot of reasons.
    One AJ talked about cutting the tag end, they make small scissors, 2-3 bucks, tag end no more problem.