Interesting scene in Catfish video

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by loki1982, Aug 29, 2006.

1. loki1982

loki1982 New Member

State:
    Texas
    I subscribe to netflix, and received "Cashing in on Catfish" today. I sat down to watch it, and towards the beginning on the show, there is a flathead apparently in an aqaurium and a minnow swims within about 5 inches of it. The flathead sucks it in, in a split second. He didnt even move, just inhaled like a vacuum. I was quite suprised and had to rewind it to watch it again. Anyways, im just beginning the video, and just thought it was rather interesting to see thsi in aciton.

2. DTro

DTro Active Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I always assumed that's what they did. Matter of fact, I can see when it happens by watching my rod tip.

But yeah, that video is cool stuff, aint it?

3. JAinSC

JAinSC Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    My wife joined netflix for us. I'll have to make sure she gets tht one for me.

In case anyone is interested, the way they do the vacuum thing is pretty cool. Some fish have muscles that can hold the gills closed and they have flaps there that seal pretty much water tight. Then another set of muscles pulls down the throat which causes the gills to flare (while still sealed) and the rest of the mouth cavity to expand (creating negative presure inside). Then, when they pull the mouth open the vacuum created causes water to suck in from directly in front of them. Have you noticed with flatheads that real nice sort of gasket just in from the jaw bones? I would bet that when they close their mouth that forms a tight seal, and then they can strain the water out through the gills (the rakers form a seive) and there's no way the fish they just sucked in can get away.

4. SeedTick

SeedTick New Member

State:
    Conway Arkansas