Installation advice for my Driftmasters

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Holder Review' started by JPritch, Nov 6, 2007.

1. JPritch

JPritch New Member

State:
    Lynchburg, VA
    I got a pair of driftmaster rod holders, the Flatliner Pros (1/2" model), left and right threads, one for each side of my boat. I plan to install them in the "lip" of my gunnels on my fiberglass boat, which I'd say are about 1/2" thick. I read that if you can drill through and anchor them underneath, that is the preferred method, compared to installing a base that is only held in by three screws. 1) I want to confirm this is correct?

2) What do you all recommend for bolting these suckers down? I don't trust those wingnuts too much. Should I get heavy duty nuts, washers, etc....

I appreciate any help on this. I don't really have any clue on how to proceed.:eek:oooh:

2. Big Dav

Big Dav New Member

State:
    Southwest
    Can you get to the under side of your gunnel's? If so drill through and use bolts with washes and lock nuts if possible. I always use stainless hardware and the largest diameter possible.
    I am not clear on what you mean by not trusting the wing nuts? Are you talking about the all anchors that look like wing nuts? Or the wing nuts on the driftmasters??:confused2:

3. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    Yep what Dave said. Make sure ya go all the way through and back it up with a plate of some sort.

4. JPritch

JPritch New Member

State:
    Lynchburg, VA
    Thanks guys. Yes, I can get to the underside of my gunnels. So I need to drill a hole big enough to get the threads of my driftmasters through. Then on the underside use a washer/plate and tighten with a lock nut. Sounds good.

5. dougc

dougc Active Member

State:
    Independen
    Just the bases-If they're mounted securely, there's no need to bolt the rod holder down itself.

6. Big Dav

Big Dav New Member

State:
    Southwest