In Search Of The Ohio River Leviathan

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by wolfman, May 30, 2007.

1. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    I have a passion for catfishing in the Ohio river and have fished several stretches from northern West Virginia all the way to western Kentucky. Ive had some encounters with some large catfish in my time. Some I have caught and then some that I have lost. Along with all the success stories, there is bound to be a few stories of short comings. Yes, this is gonna be one of those short comings stories. lol. Now remind you, Im no pro nor am I a novice at catfishing but enjoy getting out there chasing Mr Whiskers as much as the next person does. Ive always dreamed there will come the day of putting a 50 lb + fish in the net or the boat. In fact before last night's outing on the river I believe I have lost a big fish in every imaginable way as possible of losing one, but I never had this happen to me before.

Eric Simcox asked me if I wanted to do some drift fishing on the Ohio river down below the John T. Myers lock and dam. Well of course I said yes (does Howdy Doody have wooden...? , never mind. Anyways we loaded up and took off about 7:30pm in the evening. After launching we headed straight for the dam hoping to catch a few skipjack or shad before catfishing. There was skipjack everywhere and Eric put a few in the boat right off while I was struggling to even get a hit. Seemed they like Eric's feather-tailed jigs better than my curly -tail grub jigs. This should of told me what kind of night it was gonna be for me. I laid down the pole and got the cast net out hoping to net a few shad but only caught 1 skipjack. At this time Eric's pole was tangled up and he grabbed my pole and first cast caught a skipjack, then another and another. Ooooooo K, so now all of sudden they like the curly-tail grub jigs. Eric slayed them while I only got one.