In need of help on Lake Norman

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by thex1224, May 20, 2008.

1. thex1224

thex1224 New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Let me start out by saying I am new to cat fishing. I'm an avid bass tournament fisherman, who has been bitten by the thrill of hooking into a big cat. I've only been out a couple of times on norman, with out much success. So far i've only caught 2 fish, both flat heads, one 9 lbs 8 oz, and the other 5 lbs 9 oz.

From reading some of the other post on here, i guess i need to be drifting instead of anchoring, and maybe trying more types of bait, so far the only thing i've tried has been cut bream. It also sounds like most people run 4 to 8 rods. Am i silly for going if i only have two rods to set out. So far i have only fished the north part of Reeds Creek, Near the williamson bridge, in 20 foot of water or more....

What i really want to find out is any info on how to target the 20+ pound class of fish. I release everything i catch, and am really in it for the pictures.

Do catfish school up at all like other game fish? Do the school up by size class or by species? I guess from what i have been reading, the flat heads and the blues are species that grow to trophy class. Can i target both these species at the same time, or do they inhabit different waters at different tiems? Is the back end of reeds creek even a good place to start hunting for a big cat, or do i need to be out near the main channel?

Any advice or pointers would be much apreciated, and i'm always looking for more poeple to get out there fishing with.......

2. Tubby Catfishin

Tubby Catfishin New Member

State:
    Ramseur, North Carolina
    Michael Im very eager to see what type answers this thread brings up! Im now much help to ya on LKN but maybe you'll get lucky and LakeNormanBlues will throw in a lil advice.... Hope it works out for ya!!

3. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc