Im new to walleye fishing and need all the help i can get!

Discussion in 'Walleye Fishing' started by whiskerchaser, Jul 21, 2006.

1. whiskerchaser

whiskerchaser New Member

State:
    New Mexico
    Ok so I have a 6'6" spinning outfit with 10lb test but I also use jig heads with a little plastic shad. I know i need to reel it in really slow and bounce it but how deep? I will be fishing clayton lake it has awesome walleye fishing one of the best in new mexico and the state record is from there 16lbs. I wanna catch some and need all the tips i can get.

2. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

I have never done it but what I have seen done is bouncing the jig with a minnow on it in the same areas that small mouth would like, i.e. humps flats, points and so on. As for depth that I imagine would change with the temp. This is all I know and I know it wasn't much help sorry.

3. whiskerchaser

whiskerchaser New Member

State:
    New Mexico
    Thanks anyway thats ok I cant get a hold of any minnows not real ones anyway they dont carry them in any baitshops :roll_eyes: also theres no smallmouth but I think smally's would be in the same area as largemouths. still open to advice guys thanks.

4. jerseycat9

jerseycat9 New Member

State:
    Oakwood Georgia