Im New to Octopus hooks

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by flathead_ky, Mar 22, 2006.

1. flathead_ky

flathead_ky New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Hey guys I have always used Kahle and J Hooks, but I havent tried the circles and octopus hooks. I have been told that with circles you dont really have to set the hook. I have heard both good and things about them. The octopus style looks good to me and I have thought about trying them this year. Do u have to set the hook with that style and hows everyone's success with octopus hooks?

2. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    Yes, with the octopus, as I understand it, you do have to set the hook. In fact, I lost what probably would have been my biggest fish yet, because I had a 10/0 octopus on one rod and circles on the other. I sat there and watched the rod load up really good, then picked it up and started reeling. After a few seconds he got off. The only thing that had him hooked was the treble stinger (I was using 1/3 of a gizzard shad for bait), and he straightened it out. It was my fault. Since then, if I have anything different on any rod, I mark it with a brightly colored velcro tie to remind me.
    I normally use circles or kahles, and I've trained myself to let the rod load up real good before I ever pick it up out of the holder. (At least most of the time)

3. barbel

barbel New Member

State:
    Somewhere
    Well, in my experience and Gamakatsu's product line, there are two types of octopus hooks: the octopus hook, a J style hook with a turned eye, and an octopus circle hook. Both of them I find work best when snelled, but the octopus circle hooks is the one that doenst need to be set in order to catch fish. I catch plenty of bullheads with 4/0 gamakatsu octopus circle hooks, and have caught some really nice channels on the 8/0 sized ones.

WARNING! OPINIONS AHEAD. THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS BY NO MEANS FACTUAL.