Im lost

Discussion in 'CALIFORNIA RIVERS TALK' started by smoothalltheway, Jun 18, 2009.

1. smoothalltheway

smoothalltheway New Member

State:
    ca
    Im new to catfishing and have been on this site it seems like everyday trying to figure out how to catch a fish. Ive been to a couple lakes to include dixon, miramar, and hodges but still havent been able to catch anything ive been using chicken liver,worms,secret 7, even hot dogs but nothing seems to work for me. Can someone please direct me to a good place to go near san diego area where i can atleast get one fish!! or some techniques to use

2. rrssmith

rrssmith New Member

State:
    Bakersfield
    welcome to the boc

3. Catfish_Commando

Catfish_Commando TF Staff Member

State:
    Georgia
    Try some fresh cut-bait and give that a shot. Catch some bait, and chunk it up into different sizes. Experiment with sizes and match your terminal tackle according.

Pretty solid bunch of BOC California members, and you do have some monsters lurking in those managed lakes.

4. sscharlie

sscharlie Well-Known Member

State:
    Illinois
    Name:
    Stan
    Welcome to the BOC Johnny, hang in there, you will get one.

5. tofish

tofish New Member

State:
    arizona
    careful now paul. he's in ca and rules are strict there on bait. no gills at all. cut bait is mac's or other saltwater baits. try mackeral, chicken liver, shrimp. night crawlers is a good bait.
    wish you the best and welcome to boc. i used to live in vista, and hated fishing there.
    gary

6. USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT

USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT New Member

WELCOME to the BOC Johnny!Keep checking your Local CA. section.Someone will help you out!Check with your state fishing agency,they should be able to point you to some waters with decent numbers of cats near you.Check in on the discussion boards for the kind of catfish your after.Check out reports from your local bait shops,it,ll give you a starting point anyhow.:wink:

7. desertcatrat