Im a river NOOB! HELP!!!!!!

Discussion in 'MISSOURI RIVERS TALK' started by TOFTTnet Kami, Jul 27, 2009.

1. TOFTTnet Kami

TOFTTnet Kami New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Alright guys, I aint gonna lie. I've been fishing in lakes most of my life. I got tired of dragging in guppies. I have tried the Missouri and Mississippi several times without results to this point. I have tried using skipjack, nightcrawlers, goldfish and have yet to pull in ANY fish (although I have lost some worms, so I guess I am getting some bites.) I don't care about quantity as much as quality (I want a freakin huge one!!!)

Unfortunately, I am pretty poor, so buying a boat is not an option, so I am restricted to fishing from the banks. (That being said, if anybody has a boat and wants to take me out, I would gladly accept and pitch in for gas bait, be a designated driver since I don't drink etc.

I have been driving up to North County (I live in High Ridge/Fenton). I have been out probably 8 times in the month of july with not a single fish. That far of a drive and not catching anything SUCKS!

I would love decent places to fish that are closer to me if anyone knows any.

I am using size 8 circle hooks rigged up with a one-line liter(?) with the bank sinkers(?)(I have 2's,3's,4's and 5's). I think that's right? I had some guy show me how to do it, like I said, I have never fished a river before. I am getting snagged a WHOLE lot and losing ALOT of tackle and as I have said I have not caught anything.

I have also been going fishing by myself alot, occasionally my mom's husband will go but I feel he is also getting frustrated not catching anything.

We were hoping someone could give advice/show us the ropes and go out with us. I have tried fishing early in the am (practically sunrise and pretty much until the sun goes down).

I am looking for any and all advice I can get, and maybe even a fishing buddy, and/or guide.