I would like some input.

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by Who, Mar 3, 2007.

1. Who

Who New Member

State:
    Texas
    Im new here but know that this is a big family and I like that. I have a problem that I would like you to think about and then give me your thoughts.
    First some background.
    I work in surgery and have did so for about ........well 30+ years. Oct 17 I lost my job due to several Partners (I work as a Licensed Surgical Assistant with a group of Ortho. Dr's) leaving the group. To save on $$$ the other partners cut staff, I was one of those cut.
    I continued to work on my own assisting (I can bill insurance) two Drs. one of which was one of the partners from my old job. I was doing good but then found out that he was billing for someone else and that I could not bill. All that work and $$ down the drain. I had been living off savings for about 5 months now so things were getting tight.
    My youngest son and his family were haveing trouble making ends meet even with both of them working. My home is a 4 bedroom and too much for me. We have decided to try to live together.
    Problem.
    My oldest grandson, Adam, 16 has the attention span of . I gave him a task of making sure that the house was locked up before he went to bed and he did not do it. Forgot. Now its not that big of a deal but it could have been. It needs to be addressed and I have come up with a couple of ideas. One making him get up during the night and doing a night watchman thing by checking the doors and signing in. One time during the night for x amount of time and the other making him the home security person. This making safety rules and teaching the family about them. Sort of like an Eagle project.
    My questions for you is this. Do you have your family do anything like this, Do you know a good source of info on home security checklists ect
    or do you think that this should just get a slap on the hand and let it go?