I wish you'd a been there... it hurts but it HAD to be funny to watch

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by sal_jr, May 30, 2006.

1. sal_jr

sal_jr New Member

State:
    Ithaca, MI
    So on my noon-to-one lunch hour I went over to the local theatre. It shut down last month and the owner is moving stuff out as we speak- He's been doing this just about every day. Today he asked if I'd give him a hand with one thing. As a friendly guy, I had no problem obliging... as a quiet guy, he didnt tell me what I was in for.

Let me preface this- I move people for a living. I move homes and belongings for the 4th largest moving company in the world... largest residential moving company... worlds largest moving franchise system. I dont wish to give off the specific name cause it is irrelevant, but let me say also that I work as a manager for the original guy whose family started it all. I have also been doing this job off and on for 12 years, and yes... there is a lot of ego in with the experience.

If anyone... ANY ONE tells you theyre moving a 1930s movie projector.... and you're offering to help on your lunch just to be a nice person... dont offer to help, dont be friendly. POKE THEM IN THE EYE, TURN, and Run for your life.

Im tellin ya its the best thing you can do.

So, We're upstairs and this 1000 pound bohemoth iron base is finally strapped to the rented dolly. I decide that since I can leverage a piano single handedly down a flight of stairs (and I have done it twice grudgingly and without damage) I can surely leverage this moose of iron and steel down there. And mentally I added, it will be especially easy, with a good 50 inch landing (separating only 9 steps at a time) to maneuver and a hefty nonbreakable concrete block wall all around.... right?

WRONG.