I want to try out catching carp, need help

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by sambo, Jan 7, 2008.

1. sambo

sambo New Member

State:
    alabama
    I have heard that carp are fun to catch , would like to try it out ,but i have no idea where to begin . I need some info on this anything will help , I have never even tried to catch one , so i am a beginner. What size hooks , line rod ,reel ,bait? I know these fish get fairly large and i think it would be nice to catch a big one. Are they edible ?

2. SHOWME

SHOWME Well-Known Member

State:
    Nixa, Mo
    Sam carp are really fun to catch and there are thousands of them everywhere. In Europe they are considered to be the best fish in there waters next to salmon, that's why they are here, they are a import from europe cuz when the imagrants came here they didn't have their favorite fish in this country.
    The best and simplest way is to use regular whole kearnel corn from the can, throw a handful out in the water for chum, it almost always for me takes 15 min. for some action, use a small but strong bait hook that will hold about 4 kernels of corn, put it on a 18" leader with about 10-12 lb. test, barrel swivel, egg sinker and tie to your main line, it dosen't need to be out in the middle either, 10-15 yards thats it. The rig is the basic carolina rig and that's it. You DONOT leave your rod unattended or you WILL lose it. Afer you cast out and set your rod on a rest, have a belly in your line so when the fish takes the bait he doesnot feel anything and FISHON !!!!!:wink:

3. tncatfishing

tncatfishing New Member

State:
    clk. tn
    Check out the boc library, great info. I have heard of them being caught on balled up bread.

4. MRR

MRR New Member

State:
    Louisiana,Mo.
    You can also crush up some wheaties, mix in a bit of Annise,some strawberry flavored koolaid and water. Mix all together until you can make balls out of it.