I need some advice on bank fishing.

Discussion in 'IOWA RIVERS TALK' started by Austincarl, Jul 22, 2007.

1. Austincarl

Austincarl New Member

State:
    Muscatine, Iowa
    Hey im new to the BOC. I dont have a boat so me and my dad fish under this bridge on the Cedar River. About 20 yards down the shore line is an over hanging tree, its leaves are barely in the water. We usually use Hog Wild stink bait, and Night Crawlers. We cast in our poles to where our lines are at the tree. The current is fairly swift. We try to get out everyday. Iv caught 5 small catfish on stinkbait..... I use a medium action pole, with a reel with a 14 lb test. I use and egg sinker, stopped by a slipshot. Then further down the line i tie on a rubber worm ( meant for stinkbait ).

So yea, it hasnt been going to well:embarassed: and i'd like some advice please!!!

2. Rusty

Rusty Member

State:
    Spickard Missouri
    I use to fish the Ceder and the Iowa river around Conesville Iowa. We had a lot of luck using creek chubs and gills. They are great flathead bait. Find log jams, channels along the banks. Bullheads make great flathead bait also. The Guy I use to fish with up there passed away a few years ago so we don't go up there anymore. That is a nice river to fish...Good Luck.

3. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    Hi Austin. Welcome to the BOC.
    A little bit more information would be helpful.
    Is the overhanging tree over deep water? Is the bank undercut at the tree? Can you fish from the bridge?
    Lots of guys that bank fish use bobbers.It might be interesting to try one.
    You don't mention what time of day you usually fish. Have you tried late evening into darkness?
    best of luck
    just

4. Austincarl

Austincarl New Member

State:
    Muscatine, Iowa

5. justwannano

State:
    SE Iowa
    We were all newbe's once.
    Under cut means the water has cut under part of the trees root system.