i need help

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by fishmonster13, Aug 23, 2009.

1. fishmonster13

fishmonster13 New Member

State:
    cincinnati,ohio
    need help figuring out what I'm doing wrong any advice ,etc... would be helpful. I'm new to catfishing i just started this year and can't seem to really catch any ,I've been out at least a dozen time and have only cuaght three so far. as for bait i've been using mainly cut shad on 8/0 circle hooks. i mainly fish in between downtown cincy and down past anderson ferry. just starting to get frustrated so any help would be greatly appreciated .

matt

2. BigRoo

BigRoo New Member

State:
    Poca,West Virginia
    Are you fishing during the night or day? Are you fishing good structure (seams between dam gates,wing dams,along lock walls, log piles, outside river bends any deep river holes or drop offs,ledges, etc.) those are the places you will find the big ones if you are fishing on a big river like the Ohio. :big_smile: Phil

3. fishmonster13

fishmonster13 New Member

State:
    cincinnati,ohio
    I've fished outside ,inside,deep holes, creek heads, manmade structure, downed trees, no dams they're all a little far from me

4. BigRoo

BigRoo New Member

State:
    Poca,West Virginia
    Alot of fish are going to be moving up into the tail waters soon to fatten up for winter it would be worth your while to make a special trip to a lock somewhere on your favorite river. The night time would be the best time. :big_smile:

5. catman79

catman79 New Member

State:
    iowa
    i would say you seem to be hitting all the right spots,i dont know why you are not getting any.are you getting any bites at all?i dont know your river but do you have any wing dikes?if so fish them they produce fish,fish down side just on current edge.i hope you dont get to discouraged to quit,catfishing is one of the best sports in my opinion.good luck

6. cavereric

cavereric New Member

State:
    Austin,Texas