I need help finding shad

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by C2catfish, Oct 26, 2005.

1. C2catfish

C2catfish New Member

State:
    Hurst, Texas
    I'm pretty new to netting shad. I need some pointers on where to find em'. It's been pretty frustrating for us out there so far. In four trips to Lake Ray Roberts in N. Texas (a lake that claims to have a good population of gizzard and threadfin shad), we have only netted a few dozen on the first trip.

I have learned to throw the net pretty good. We have seen no shad flippin' on the surface. Is that because it has finally cooled down here in N. Texas? The ones we see on my LCM-332c are just small balls.

Am I missing something fundamental here? We went out into deeper water, but only saw smallish balls of shad there too. Where are they?

I know that there is no better place to ask a question of this sort than this site, but is this the right folder to ask it in?

I have of course, been beggin' for info in the Texas section.

Any and all info well be greatly appreciated.

Thank you brothers,

C2

2. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    What hours of the day are you trying? I find that early morning and late evening into the night are best for me. I also get into the back of coves and look around. If the water is cooler like it is now maybe try and find a spot where the water is warmer then the rest of the area. Shad is one thing I don't have trouble getting here.

3. THE FISH WHISPER'ER

THE FISH WHISPER'ER New Member

State:
    waynesville ,IL
    up here in the fall they move into the shallow coves to suck up the warm sun

4. RIVER-RAT

RIVER-RAT New Member

State:
    MO / MT