I need help catching Trout!

Discussion in 'Trout Fishing' started by catman529, Dec 31, 2006.

1. catman529

catman529 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I have no trout fishing experience. The local stream was just stocked w/ rainbow trout for the winter, I think for the first time. During the summer it is too warm. I don't know where they are, when they bite, when they are in certain spots, etc. I know they like worms etc, and there is an artificial bait called the "trout magnet" that might work. I would probably use nightcrawlers though.

Help me anybody, I am a trout dummy!

2. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    I've used ultra light rigs with no more than 6# test. #6 hook, small split shot about 18" above it, small piece of worm, cast upstream and let it float down. watch your line for a pick up.

3. MattShannon

MattShannon New Member

State:
    WV
    Like Bobpaul said, light tackle. I've had my best luck on Rainbow Power Bait. Give it a try. Trout Magnets do work, but were a little difficult to use for me at first. Nightcrawlers, mill worms, salmon eggs, spinners and a slew of others work good too. Give the orange Panther Martin spinner a try too, it works great, but I never leave home w/o Rainbow Power Bait.

4. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    like Mat said rainbow power bait I rig for trout just like cats a small egg sinker abuot 1/4oz smallbbl swivel leader around 18 inches and hook between #8-12 also try the slipcork method with a very small float like the size of a dime stockers arent all that wary but if there not hungry theyll give ya fits

5. catman529

catman529 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    thanks everyone...
    so how much current do they prefer this time of year? There are some moderately swift areas by the rapids. The bottom consists of small and large rocks. Is this good habitat for rainbows?

6. squirtspop

squirtspop New Member

State:
    Glencoe, Arkansas