I need a circle hook expert!

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by Chief, Apr 13, 2006.

1. Chief

Chief New Member

State:
    Indiana
    this is my first year to seriously try out some circle hooks. the other day i was bank fishing while i was talking to my buddy my #3 rod whipped down and i saw my line shoot upriver so i grabbed the rod out of the holder, held it high and started reeling, i felt him for a second and then it was like he just let go. i figured since the rod bent down so far it would of been enough to turn and sink that circle hook. maybe i should of waited a little longer before picking up the rod? been making sure to hook my cutbait in the corner to leave lots of room for the hook to do its thing so that wasnt the problem.

2. barbel

barbel New Member

State:
    Somewhere
    Clayton, there are a lot of mysteries about circle hooks. Are you fishing for blues or flatheads? There was someone that said blues have a tendency to grab the bait as they go by like a freight train, and then they will rearrange it in their mouth. If it was a blue, and it did this, then you might have pulled the hook out of its mouth. If you didnt push the hook point all the way through the bait, it could have blocked the hook gap and prevented it from setting into his jaw. Another possibility would be that circle hooks just arent for you. Some people take that stance too. Me, for instance. I like circle hooks ok, but I think that J hooks are more reliable. So a little more information (type of fish, bait, current/weather conditions etc...) would help :)

3. YeeHaw

YeeHaw New Member

State:
    Quincy Illinois
    I don't really have this problem. I wait until the rod it really shaking good then pick it up. But i have had a problem with it not sinking in and the fish just graps it but dosn't bite down on it.

4. fat_fish55

fat_fish55 New Member

State:
    illinois
    i always try to wait until i know for sure that it is on