I could use some help, my catfishing brothers...

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by Sasquatch_24, Aug 3, 2008.

1. Sasquatch_24

Sasquatch_24 New Member

State:
    Colorado
    Well, ive been catfishing for a few years now and here's what i usually do...

I set up two rods with two hooks on each rod. one rod has bait-holder trebles and the other has some small octopus hooks. on the bait-holder trebles i usually put some blood bait dough balls on. on the octopus hooks i put a chicken liver on one and a couple night crawlers on the other. i prop my rods up pretty high and between the 2nd and 3rd eye-lits (from the end of the pole) i put a bobber on the line and set it up so the bobber is hanging on slack. i watch the bobber as a bite indicator.

this is the set-up ive always used. its the set-up my brother-in-law has always used. and its the set-up my dad has always used. i dont do too well when i decide to go nightfishing. i seem to watch my bobber dance around for about half an hour. then i reel in my rigs and rebait my line. every once in a while ill catch a fish or two, but it just seems like a whole lot of excited bobber watching with no channel cats on the stringer.

Any ideas, guys?

2. daddio

daddio New Member

State:
    kansas
    I have had better luck without treble hooks I put my slip sinker on then a swivel then 18" line and regular hook with shrimp I have used circle hooks, no bobber on the line just watch the tip. But there are only about a million different ways to set up if your way isnt working change till ya find what ya like

3. Sasquatch_24

Sasquatch_24 New Member

State:
    Colorado
    thanks for the info! yeah, i guess i forgot to add that. i use 2-3 egg sinkers above a swivel. then about 20-30 inches of line for the two hooks on each rod.

4. n2fishn

n2fishn New Member

State:
    Topeka,Kan