I broke my personal best 3 times today (pics)

Discussion in 'MEMBER FISHING REPORTS (BECOME A FISHING LEGEND)' started by breadboy, Apr 6, 2007.

1. breadboy

breadboy New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Ok, I'm not the best catfisher, I'm just getting started. I'm 15, and I've been on less than 10 trips specifically for cats. I have caught channel cats in the private lake behind my house, my biggest channel is 15 pounds. But today was different. We went to Santee Cooper and had a guided trip. I broke my personal best for catfish 3 times during the day.

Within 10 minutes of the baits being in the water, I hooked up on a 17 pound blue and my dad made it a double header with a 12 pound flathead. Right there, that 17 pounder beat my previous 15. We continued to catch a few small blues and channels around 5 pounds and up to 10. Then, I got a 16 pounder to one of the rods and landed him. The bite slowed down.

After about an hour of waiting boom a 25 pounder hit one of the rods, man it was a good fight since we weren't using broomsticks and beat my PB so far. I thought my day was over. We caught some more small ones and even caught a clam :crazy: lol.

Then, around 1:30 in the afternoon.... I saw one of the rods closest to me double over and the drag was screaming. The fish wrapped around a few sunken tree trunks. We even saw him surface and splash across the surface while fighting him (still hung up on the trunks). I got one snag out then another, and he was free towards the back of the boat. We finally landed him and he was the biggest catfish I have ever seen caught fishing in person. We weighed him on the scale (we weighed all the others on the scale by the way) and he turned out to be 35 pounds! The guide told me how I got him out of the brush with 30 pound test he doesn't know.