I am new to bank fishing

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by 40 Pound Club, Jun 27, 2006.

1. 40 Pound Club

40 Pound Club New Member

State:
    Illinois
    New to bank fishing, I find it hard to find or fish spots that look good to me. I am not a fan of letting the bait get super close to shore and the current always drags it there or I snag up on something if I throw something heavy on. Been trying to find a point or sharp curve but to no avail. Any tips or pointers on keep my bait at least 10 feet off the shore. I don't feel comfortable with it any closer.

2. mdudes17

mdudes17 New Member

State:
    Chicago, Illinois
    what type of water are u fishing? big river, small river? i would try using a slip bobber with a heavy sinker on the line. if that doesn't work, try a pyramid sinker without a bobber, they are more staionary on the bottom.

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Use heavy sinkers..Some of my spots I have used up to 10oz's of weight.

4. shortbus

shortbus New Member

State:
    indiana