Hunting winter blue catfish!!!

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by KYCATFISHHUNTER, Dec 13, 2006.

1. KYCATFISHHUNTER

KYCATFISHHUNTER New Member

State:
    NORTHERN KENTUCKY
    Hi BOC brothers, Im pretty new to blue fishing and i've heard winter time is one of the best times to fish for them. But I have one problem, i dont have a boat. I was wondering if there was a way to fish for them besides driffting for them in a boat? thanks for any info. The BOC is the best!!!!

2. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    Jeff, I catch plenty of blues year round, but the bigguns seem easier to target during the colder months. The only time I drift for them is during the warmer months. When the water temps drop to the 40s and lower the fish are quite a bit slower and don't really take a bait at the speed they will during warmer water periods. Even though the bite is good for blues in the colder water, they tend to lite bite and mouth the bait alot more instead of exploding on it like in the summer. You can still fish for them with some success along the bank. They will stack up in the slack part of eddy holes during the extremely colder periods and that is when I have the best luck targetting them, they will also be closer to the bank at this time. You will want to use fresh cut or live shad or skipjacks for the best results. The best place to find an eddy hole is to fish the mouths of feeder creeks running into the main river. Vern

3. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    Jeff, by the way, Where in Northern KY do you live, I am in Bedford, Ky? Vern

4. bluehunter

bluehunter New Member

State:
    Los Angele