how to make soap bait

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by redcat, Nov 17, 2005.

1. redcat

redcat New Member

State:
    Cordesville, SC
    Any info on how to make soap bait out there? I'm willing to try to make it my self. I heard of just using Ivory soap, but I was hoping to find something I could do with it or something else.

2. TOPS

TOPS New Member

State:
    Cabot,Arkansas
    Redcat, I have not used soap bait but what I have read just use the ivory as is. Like I said I am no expert but I think Jtrew has used soap bait on several occasions. send him a PM he will answer you.

3. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    You can put Ivory soap into an old pot over low heat and melt it. There are probably an almost unlimited number of things you can do to it:
    1. Adding water will result in it being softer. A little water simply makes it soft enough so that you don't have to be so concerned about it crumbling when you cut it into pieces. More water, and you have a semi-soft soap that can be formed into balls on treble hooks like a doughbait or work it into a piece of loofa.
    2. Add bacon grease. There's a strong school of thought that the animal fats/oils used to make cheaper soaps is what attracts cats, so adding more animal fats/oils should make it more attractive. I've got some made up where I added about 1/2 cup of bacon grease for each bar of Ivory, but I haven't given it a real test yet.
    3. I've also heard of adding garlic, anise, and/or blood to soap. It's cheap enough so that if you melt down several bars, you can separate it into a number of smaller batches, with different additives for each batch. Then test each batch to see what works best for you.

4. ShilohRed

ShilohRed New Member

State:
    West Tn
    Soap Bait Recip
    The basic recipe is:

10 cups (5lbs.) lard or tallow

10 cups (5lbs.) cold water

½ cup borax

½ cup plain household ammonia

1 can of lye (12 ounces)