How to kill

Discussion in 'Trapping & Fur Taking' started by Hawk52, Sep 2, 2009.

1. Hawk52

Hawk52 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Hey everyone im new to trapping and am getting ready for the season to start here in Ohio. I was just wondering what the most effective way to kill a traped animal is. I was thinking it would be to shoot it, but then that would damage the fur, right? Any tips would be geatly appreciated.

2. samh

samh New Member

State:
    Damascus,Arkansas
    When I trapped I carried a .22 pistol. One round to the back of the head was quick and humane and I never had any complaints from the fur buyers.

3. kyelkhunter3006

kyelkhunter3006 New Member

State:
    Ky
    A good .22lr or .22 Magnum to the head will do it every time. Quick and painless. Get a revolver or semi-auto pistol so it's easy to pack around with your gear. You can get some single action revolvers with interchangable cylinders for both catridges.

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Andrew Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois. I agree with the above two post on the 22. Good trapping.:0a25::0a25:

5. RetiredToFish

RetiredToFish New Member

State:
    Newark, Ohio
    I prefer .22 shorts or CB caps for coon and yotes other methods for other animals. This is usually a topic that isn't widely discussed in open forum because it can become fodder for antis if the wrong thing is said .. so it is best that any detailed discussion be carried on through PMs .... Garry-

6. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Glad to have ya with us on BOC.

7. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Most will say a 22 to the head,I much prefer head shots on any reversed case skinned critters. Coon ETC. For Coyote ,Fox I prefer to shoot in the lung area with a 22 short or cb cap
    When you skin one shot in the head you'll know why.

8. warcraft1975

warcraft1975 New Member