How to hook a crawfish for catfish bait

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by Scott Graves, Apr 13, 2006.

1. Scott Graves

Scott Graves New Member

I'm fairly new at this. Could someone tell me the proper way to hook a crawfish??? They just will not hang on with there claws!!!!!

2. tdpasser

tdpasser New Member

State:
    Gilbert AZ
    Try using a sliding bobber with no weight or just a split shot keeping him from reaching bottom completly, I like the smaller crawfish for bait I hook them in the tail up by the body so they can swim really good. If your casting on the bottom the lead might rip the bait off, try a lighter weight and cast softly.

3. Rockin' Blues

Rockin' Blues New Member

State:
    st.louis mo.
    i like to pull there claws off

4. captain5214

captain5214 New Member

State:
    louisiana
    i pull the claws off and pinch the nose off.....also use light weights let the crawfish crawl around. hope this helps charlie r

5. Tym2Fish

Tym2Fish New Member

State:
    Scottsdale Arizona
    I do the same. Never tried fishing them off of a float. Good idea!!

6. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky
    heres the best way.Take a rubberband and wrap it around the crawl tight then slip your hook through the rubber band along the top and get ready.They live longer this way and they can still move around and do there thing.

7. johnstone460

johnstone460 New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Brinley45cal what size hockes do you use when you use your rubberbands?

8. tnkatman

tnkatman New Member

State:
    Bluff City, TN
    I Always Pulled Off The Claws And Hooked Them Through The Tail, But The Rubberband Method Sounds Like A Good Idea.

9. JimF

JimF New Member

State:
    IL