How to choose a spot?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by harper81, Apr 8, 2007.

1. harper81

harper81 Member

State:
    Summerville, SC
    I am new to catfishing and new to the area I live in now and I am going to start fishing in a lake nearby. I don't know what is even in the lake, but it is a South Carolina DNR lake so it should in theory be well taken care of. There is a limit of three catfish per person on this paticular lake so they must be in there.

Now what exactly do you look for when approaching a new lake? Its only 70 acres and you can fish for the most part the entire way around it. I have attached a pic from google maps to show the layout of the lake.

2. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    Harper81

Welcome Aboard!!

Depends on which cat my freind. Go to the libary and also your State and see 'When, Where & How" the others are gettin them.

:big_smile:

3. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    It's hard to tell without being there. All I can say is to pick a spot and go from there. Try several different baits, and spots 'till ya hook up. Good luck.

4. jbarnes17

jbarnes17 New Member

State:
    Commerce, Oklahoma
    the Kat said it best. just go out and explore the lake. Welcome to the BOC

5. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    I assume that you are not fishing from a boat.
    So
    Move around.
    "Pick a spot and" start from there.
    Watch where the others are fishing.
    Look for high banks may indicate deep water close by.
    Look for structure.
    Look for feeder streams.
    Fish the channel formed by the old creek bed.
    Fish old road beds.
    This is a new computer so I cannot say for sure but it looks like if you study the blackness of the water there may be structure showing the old terraine. This may be a hint as to where the holes are where fish congregate.
    best of luck
    just

6. Ryan11r

Ryan11r New Member

State: