How to catch BIGger catfish

Discussion in 'LOCAL ARKANSAS TALK' started by Kalvinc, Jul 2, 2009.

1. Kalvinc

Kalvinc New Member

State:
    Russellville, AR
    Okay so I have been catfishing for a few years now and I am more than happy when I catch five or six 2lb- cats. In fact, that hardly ever happens when I'm just R&R fishing...So to be completely honest the biggest cat I have ever caught on rod and reel is probably 3lbs. The biggest on a limbline is 7lbs 2oz, the biggest fish I have ever caught in my life. This blue was caught on a live crappie minnow set in about 6 feet of water 10 feet from the bank.

I fish on Lake Dardanelle in Russellville and I just always see these people with stringers of 10lb+ cats and they are disappointed when they only land an 8 pounder or don't catch but five cats...WTH??? Pretty much I stick to livers when I'm R&R fishing and live sunfish or hotdogs on the trotline.

My question is: How do I catch mostly 5lb+ cats?

Do I need to buy one of those big surf rods, get HUGE hooks, and figure out some way to obtain skipjack? Just please guys if you could be so kind, please explain in full what I need to do. Can you post the item number of the hooks you use? (On Cabelas website) If you know of a place around Russellville to get the desired bait aswell, that would be great information too! What kind of line do I need? I would just like to catch a fish that actually wore me out for once in my life!

Thanks,

Kalvin Cackler

2. poisonpits

poisonpits Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    arkansas
    Name:
    johnnie