How to avoid Bullhead?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by aburk, Nov 7, 2007.

1. aburk

aburk New Member

State:
    Tucson, AZ
    The lake i currently fish is covered in bullhead some are really nice bullheads(up to 3.5lbs), among these bullies are some very giant channel cat, the problem is that they almost always get the bait before the channel cats do,
    and when i say almost always i mean i have been fishing this lake for 2 years and one day caught 2 channel cats within minutes of each other that were huge and thats it. I know there is some giants in this lake i just need to know how to get past those bullheads.

2. kscathunter

kscathunter New Member

State:
    Louisburg,
    use the bullhead for bait:smile2:

3. GMC FishHauler

GMC FishHauler New Member

State:
    Waco, Texas, Un
    use something alive and fish it about a foot off of the bottom, channels will usually pick it up before bullheads.

4. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    You must eat them.

5. Patmansc

Patmansc Well-Known Member

State:
    Greer, SC
    Name:
    Pat Chaney
    I agree with the others: eat them, or use them for bait!

6. Zebco 33

Zebco 33 New Member

State:
    Illinois
    If the lake is clean and the water is clear, then you are missing out on a great tasting fish.

But, if you must......then, like posted before, fish off the bottom a foot or so and use a live and larger bait.

Jerry

7. Ketch

Ketch New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    If you know the channels get big there, then I would increase bait size and go with live bait too.

8. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    Fish a different kind of water. FIsh deeper or fish a totally different part of the lake.

9. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    First off aburk, I wanna welcome ya to the BoC ( if I haven't already ). Second I researched them a little to confirm my thoughts to avoid looking foolish..it happens ; )