How soon is too soon?

Discussion in 'Turtle Talk' started by dwidder, Feb 3, 2008.

1. dwidder

dwidder New Member

State:
    MO
    Hi all. I'm new to BOC and had a question. I've never seen any turtles until the temps warm up to the point where it is consistetnly above freezing. I thought that turtles went into hibernation but I get the feeling that maybe this isn't true. Any advice?

2. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    in the southern half of the u.s. reptiles in general go into a state of dormancy rather than hibernation. this is why on warm winter days you might see a lizard or snake sneaking through the leaves, or a slider cruising the shoreline. reptiles need to thermoregulate, even during dormancy. the only difference is the level of activity and feeding. they will rarely if ever eat during the winter because they can't metabolize food without the thermoregulation and since the warm periods are few and far between, it could be harmful to the animal to eat and not be able to digest its food.

3. LadyTurkeyHunter

LadyTurkeyHunter New Member

State:
    Iowa
    From what I have learned here in Iowa, Turtles tend to bury themselves in the mud just before the first good frost and the ice starts to form on ponds and etc. You start seeing them moving around again after the ice is gone and the temp gets back up in the 50s or so... it is common here in the spring to see a big old snapper crossing the road with his back covered in mud or clay on his way to a water hole... it is also common to see them moving across the roadways in the fall just before the big freeze....Seeing a turtle on the move is generally a good indication that spring or winter is here. Just from my observation.

4. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    Welcome to the BOC!!! Sorry I can't help you with your question, it seems like you have some good advice already!:wink::big_smile:

5. Larry Beever

Larry Beever New Member

State: