How should I fish this hole for flathead catfish?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by mazdabob, Apr 19, 2006.

1. mazdabob

mazdabob New Member

State:
    Council Bluffs, IA (Omaha)
    I'm brand new to flathead fishing so I'm not to sure what I'm doing quite yet, but back in March before the corps raised the missouri river to nav. levels I went and did some scouting at a state park just north of where I live. I think I found a really good hole to find some flats, hopefully. I attached a real crappy MS Paint I did to try to help ya visualize.
    This particular area is behind a wing dike that has a cut right at the beginning of it. Back in march when I was scounting around, the whole area out to the end of the dike was dry except for the holes which are connected by a small channel. After the holes the bottom slopes up into sandy bottom that is strewn with logs and debris caught in the sand. I would guess that the sandy bottom I'm talking about is about 5-6ft deep right now (the river is pretty full now).
    Can y'all give me suggestions on the best way to fish this area??
    I'll be fishing from the shore with my 10ft Eagleclaw watereagle rod with a shakespare freeliner reel. I'll be using both live sunfish and bullheads as bait. Thnks in advance guys!

Attached Files:

2. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I think you got you a good area, I would fish both holes in the daytime, and maybe between them at night, looks like you cant go wrong there.

3. jdstraka

jdstraka Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Council Bluffs, Iowa
    Name:
    John